Thanks to technology, many of my hobbies and pleasant past times are obsolete.  For example, I have a rubber stamps collection, which I used to decorate my letters and personalized stationary.  I can not remember the last time I wrote a letter. E-mail is certainly more quick and I don’t have to spend $ on a stamp.

So the rubber stamps stay in a drawer. They are lodged next to recipe clippings. I spent a lot of time reading years of  “Gourmet” and “Bon Apetit” magazines, ripping out the recipes I thought promising.  My vast collection of cookbooks also sit on the shelves. The internet makes it easier and faster to find a recipe than to go through my accordian file of clippings or rummage through books.

Once upon a time I enjoyed making ‘mix tapes” – there’s a blast from the past! – taking pride in my editing skills. Thanks to Mr. Forbes and his marvelous machines I create playlists with continual editing.  I don’t think they make cassette tapes any more, do they?

I am one of the last card carrying members of the Clerisy*.  Fewer and fewer people read anymore.. I dread the inevitable day when some youngster wonders what I am looking at, having not seen a paper book before.

Other past times of mine, such as memorizing poems and fact lists (the States, the Capitols, the Presidents) are rather useless when a few taps on the iphone brings up this information.

I suppose it is a matter of time when I become obsolete. “Medicine” is one of the few professions left where aging is an asset, but this is changing.  I wait for my pink slip announcing I am being replaced by a cheaper nurse practioner or (lord save us!) a psychologist. I take comfort in the knowledge they haven’t yet found a good way to turn Psychiatry into a computer self-diagnosis and treatment programme.  I hope by then I will have retired, when I will attend to all those recipe clippings

 

* Clerisy < People who read; the other side of “Writers” or “People of Letters”.  

