One of the weekend cooking endeavors is to bake a jam cake. 

I found this recipe in a cookbook of old time American recipes.  Apparently pioneer women made this cake as it ‘kept well’.  

I like it as it is simple, not too sweet, delicious, and has a nice colour.        Like my men. 

Jam Cake

                                  DSC00824

3/4 cup butter

1 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 cup thick jam*

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 t baking soda

1 t baking powder

1 t cinnamon

1/2 each of allspice and nutmeg

1/4 t  cloves

1/2 cup buttermilk or

1/4 milk and 1/4 boubon whiskey

 

Cream the butter, then cream in the sugar until light. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Stir in jam. Sift the flour with other dry ingredients.  Add the flour mixture alternatively with the liquid.  Mix until just combined.

Turn into a greased and floured 11 x 14 x 2 1/2 sheet cake pan.
Bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven x 40 minutes. 

Frost with jam, whipped cream, or fluffy frosting

Or have it without any topping, like my men. 

*This time I will use blackberry jam, sent by Rodger of Rodger Dodger and his partner Mark of Scuff Productions.   They are wizards of canning; I am honored and privileged they send me jams and pickles etc. from time to time. 

