The Best Friend’s partner is the first fellow I encountered who had his eyeglasses connected by a strap. He explained he took his glasses on and off so much, this saved wear and tear. Prior to him, the only person I knew who had their spectacles on a string was a great aunt. Hers was a string of pearls, connecting glasses butterfly shaped, encrusted with precious gems.

Now it is my turn. At work I need glasses for computer work but otherwise they give me a headache. So I take them on and off many times in an hour.

Last week I squashed my specs; while having them repaired I took this opportunity to purchase my first string. I decided to go for the slim leather string, rather than the fabulous beads in many colours. Someone was relieved. Still, what would the patients have thought?

