Sometimes when I am looking for a particular book, I find other books I forgot I have. One is titled “100 Things Everyone Should Know How to Do”. The 100 items are interesting in themselves.  Some of them I already know (How to tie a bowtie); some of them I don’t care to know (swing a golf club).

When I can’t think of anything to write As a public service I thought I would post one of these from time to time.

So here is How to make a proper martini.  

Pre-chill a V shaped glass in the freezer.

A martini should always be mixed in a mixing glass filled with ice (made with filtered water). Use a glass, not a metal container (don’t question me).

Start with 3 dashes of DRY vermouth, not sweet. Sweet vermouth is for Manhattans; dry vermouth for martinis.

Add 2 ounces of dry gin (no rubbish). Stir the ingredients, about 30 times. You want some water from the melting ice to go into the drink, to mellow the booze.  Strain into the glass. Garnish with 1-2 cocktail olives and twist of lemon.

Apparently Vermouth should be stored in the fridge.  It is a wine, after all, and oxidizes at room temperatures (who knew?).  Even large bottles go bad after a month or so, so get small bottles.

Don’t store gin in the fridge. Frozen gin won’t melt the ice when stirring; a little water is critical, as stated.
Shaken vs. stirred?  Shaking adds air, sparkle and froth. So shake drinks with juices or sweet ingredients, to give them effervescence. Martinis should be cold, silky, and heavy like my men. So stir martinis.

As martinis are a social event, make them in front of your guests.

Try to tell as many people as you can in town.

