Today I attend a medical conference; I have not attended one in many years.  Doctors as required to have continuing medical education. I get mine twice a month via CDs. I listen to them driving to and from work. This works well. The amount of credits generated turns out not to be enough to renew my license in a certain state. Who knew? I pride myself in being ‘credit rich’ but apparently this is ‘not enough’. I need some supplements, so off to a ‘real lecture’ I go.

Going to a sit-down all-day lecture is how a lot of doctors get their credits. The lectures are often located in travel destinations, like Orlando or Hawaii, to make a family holiday tax deductible.  In the ‘bad old days’ doctors would sign in, wander off, and return at the end of the day to pick up their certificate of attendance. Scandalous! I once caught my boss doing this, and it strained our relationship ever afterwards.

A ‘real lecture’  has some advantages. I can cruise schmooze with my fellow wizards. There is free breakfast and usually a nice luncheon. Free eats may be a thing of the past. The last time I went to a sit-down lecture it was ‘before technology’. We used to get bound lecture material and a pen with which to take notes. I will be intrigued to see if people have laptops, ipads etc.

It is an unpleasant thought, spending a pleasant spring Saturday sitting in a lecture hall. I tend not to learn much at local lectures, thanks to my good habit of reading journals.  The main challenge: I can’t sit still for an hour, let alone ‘all day’. I didn’t do well sitting in lectures back in my 20s or 30s, so how can I do this nearly 50? Ironically, one of the lectures will be about adult ADHD. I hope the Adderall XR  pharmaceutical representative  is there.

I will be in the back, with my laptop, simultaneously trying to listen while doing homework.

If there is internet access, perhaps I will read blogs during the dull parts.

