I have hit a ‘dry spell‘ where there is nothing going on, or at least nothing to develop into a blog entry. I look around at my present life and there isn’t anything particularly interesting. Rummaging through my thoughts hasn’t turned up any tasty tid-bits.  My family – Someone too – hasn’t any news either.

Things seems to be OK. There may be nothing sensational, but there is nothing bad either. This mundane daily duty of going through the motions is what I call “Life”. As I age, I appreciate more the peace of a quiet existence. As a younger man I would find it boring.  Either I am gaining wisdom or I am approaching senility.

And then there are the bananas.

Someone likes to buy bananas, but only when they are on sale. “I like a bargain” he states. Lately, we have had bunches and bunches. I like bananas, but not too often. I am getting one every day. The trouble with bananas is they all ripen at the same time. We are forced to consume mass quantities before they all spoil.

Here is my recipe for muffins – which is the best way I can think of to get rid of over ripe bananas.

Muffins without Peer

Cream together:

1/2 cup butter

1 1/4 cup brown sugar

Mix in:

2 eggs

1/2 cup oil

6 mashed bananas

Add:

3 cups flour

1 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. nutmeg

2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

dash of salt

optional dried fruit or nuts

Bake 350 F x 25 minutes

Makes 12 muffins

