Sumer is icumen in,

Lhude sing cuccu!
Groweþ sed and bloweþ med

And springþ þe wde nu,
Sing cuccu!

Around these parts we have coyotes, not cuckoos.

Along with the coyotes come the heat. Soon it will be over 100 degrees. I make solar tea. The pool is warming up so I can get in for more than a few minutes.  Soon it will be a blessing. There is nothing like jumping into the pool at the end of a hot day to wash it all away. Still cool and a bit damp, I crawl into bed, listening to the AC hum.

Summer is also ‘BBQ sauce” season. I will experiment with various recipes, in my search for delicious new sauces.

Summer in Phoenix is mostly about getting OUT of Phoenix.  Someone and I are traditionalists rather than adventurers. We like to go to the same places ~ the same time, year after year.

May – Palm Springs for the fun of it
June – Flagstaff for Pride fest weekend

July – Santa Fe for the opera

August – Ontario for the theatre

I look forward to these getaways. They give each month a sense of an impending holiday.

