Yesterday when I was on the plane to Canada, I put down the tray and there was an advertisement. I like to think I make my purchase decisions based on a careful consideration of options and fact, but I often sense I am being schnookered.  Perhaps this defines successful advertising – the sucker thinks he is making his own decision but he’s he is really being led by the nose.

I am bombarded by ads all day long *.  My work journals are full of medication ads. Every day I see T-shirts and designer clothes that make  people into walking billboards for products. Every time I go on the internet there are ads. If you were to ask me “What ads did you see today?” I would pull a  blank. “Lots, but I can’t remember any or them.”

As I grow older ,I grow more comfortable with products I like and already use.  New and fancy packaging or fabulous promises usually turn me off to a product, not make me want to try it.

My emotional disdain for advertising is based on the “Summer Rain” phenomena. For Spo-fans sadly ignorant of this movie “The Women”,  I will need to explain. In “The Women” the heroine thinks her spouse gave her a bottle of “Summer Rain” perfume based on something special about her.  She later learns the saleswoman who sold it to him was going to sell him ‘Summer Rain” before he even approached the counter.  I hate this.  In our house we call any purchase of  dubious objectivity a ‘Summer Rain”.

Oh well. I try my best to keep conscious, read labels, ask questions, and think before buying.  I try to get the facts behind the hype.

And I don’t buy no things from Joan Crawford.

* Like the ad on the tray. It was for a vitamin powder called Emergen-C. It tells me “The more you support your immune system, the more you support our eco-system.”  This claim has an asterisk in it guiding me to some very small fine print stating this claim has no support by the FDA, nor is Emergen-C intended to treat disease.

