This morning I had my seasonal appointment with The Good Doctor (TGD).   My blood pressure is OK and my weight is down. This suggests my exercise and better diet are ‘paying off’. Cholesterol and TG levels were acceptable and even improved. I had no ‘complaints’ otherwise.  TGD and I ended up talking about mutual patients. Sometimes we talk about sewing; he makes dresses for wine bottles. I was told to ‘keep it up.” and come back in another 3 months.

Having ‘little to talk about” with TGD  is a good sign; I am as “well enough”. Still, going to the doctor always makes me wonder how long I have to live. I hope this doesn’t sound morbid.  I have high cholesterol, high blood pressure and there is family history of heart attacks and stroke, as well as prostate cancer. I have to be on my toes to keep as well as I can be. Plus, I don’t want to be a hypocrite. I spend all day imploring patients to mind their weight, get exercise, stop nasty habits etc. I need to be a role model.

All day long I am around ill people. As I work with a lot of seniors I get the biased sensation growing old = misery, pain, and disability.  Every lecture/paper on Geriatric Medicine reminds me depression is NOT the norm in the elderly. Quite the contrary, there are less depressed old people than young people – or so they say.

I am not sure of my point. I suppose it is to express gratitude I am doing so OK. I hope to be one of the ‘OK old people” some day. With common sense self care and being prudent in my habits, perhaps I will be ‘on of them’.

