I think one of the reasons I do well at my job is I have no great zeal to be known by it. If I had to stop being a shrink I wouldn’t be devastated. Being a doctor is not engrained into my soul as “Who I am”.  My zeal is for writing. Happily, blogging channels my passion to put prose into print.

Three times in the past four weeks people have urged me to write a book.  One blogger buddy (bless’em!) suggests I utilize my blogging experience to write a novel. A patient thinks I should write a self-help book. The third person, a relative, thinks I should compact the history of the Spo family into a memoir. The fact three people in a short time have suggested I do the same thing makes me sit up and pay attention.

This is an idea not consciously considered – until now. I am slightly curious at the challenge to somehow write a piece of fiction containing psychological wisdom and genealogy.

Another piece of synchronicity: I am reading a book on the history of the story. According to the author, there are 7 universal themes of stories.

Slaying the Monster

Rags to Riches

The Quest

Journey and Back

Comedy

Tragedy

Rebirth

 

So – I have the stencils in which to compose a thumping good read. I have the encouragement of others. Maybe I have some talent; I certainly have the zeal –  hell, if I can teach myself how to make shirts, I can write a novel.

Alas, I don’t have a story.

Is there a book for wanna-be writers called ‘Lots of Plots”?

I’ve sent an email to the Muses to deliver some visions, one sentence openers, or events to get the ball rolling as it were.  Now that I know how to send and receive text messages, they can communicate that way too.

 

Later – I’ve received a text with one word in it  – “gumdrop “,  Now what am I supposed to do with this?

 

