I have a half-composed entry titled “The most beautiful songs”.  I never seem to finish it; it is forever a work in progress. “The most beautiful songs” is a lofty project, no?  The members are continually being pulled off and put back on.

One tune seems constant. I think “Silent Night” is indeed most beautiful and near perfect a song I know.  It has a simple tune, beautiful lyrics, nice harmonies, and minor and diminished cords, of which I am fond.

I have a rather large collection of Christmas CD. Thanks to Mr. ipod, I put them all into a playlist. It contains 472 songs!  11 of the them are “Silent Night” or Stille Nacht. It is quite an eccletic collection of singers:

Annie Lennox

Bing Crosby

Elvis Presley

Jessye Norman

Sarah Brightman

Susan Boyle

Narada

The Bach Choir

Classical Bells

The King’s Singers

Mannheim Steamroller

and

The Harry Simeone Chorale

I have nothing profound to say. During the month of December I will slowly go through my Christmas playlist. “Silent Night” will be sprinkled among the jolly tunes. I pause, breathe a little slower, and smile a bit, and hum along.

Sleep in Heavenly Peace.

 

