Someone is interest in getting us some smart phones.

If you combine “Invasion of the Body Snatchers” with The Trojan Horse you will get the picture of my dubious feelings about the proposal.

Someone is a sensible sort; his rationale for getting them makes sense. My ipod is on its last leg (or chip). He points out the price to get a new ipod is compatible with getting a smart phone. A phone would hold all my music, make phone calls, send texts and emails, and allow me onto the internet. We have some discount coupons, and the dubious devices are on sale. Since I will use it for work (medical research and answering pages) it is a tax write-off.  I could read email anytime. I could read blogs too, although what I really would like is the ability to warp time and space and turn off other people’s cell phones.

Spo-fans know I am a technophobe and frankly an idiot when it comes to electronic devices. I was dragged kicking and screaming into purchasing a cellphone. It only took me a year to figure out how to take a photo. It took another year to  figure out how to extract the picture and send it to someone.  This last month I learned enough to send a text message. Just as I get this all managed along comes a smart phone to make me feel not at all smart again.

What I worry most is I will become one of “those people” , you know the ones. They are glued to their phones, continually tapping away oblivious to anything and everything.  Worse, I will do this in public.  Spo-fans have my permission to shoot me if I become one of those awful drivers-who-text people.

Consumer Reports tells us Apple’s iphone is not a good idea because its customers complain a lot about AT&T.  Someone is interested ins something called an Android.  What I care about is getting a smart phone with a bright colour so when I loose it it is more readily found.

Now I have to figure out what the hell is an ‘app’.

 

