Many great novels are known by their famous first lines.   Some examples (see if you can identify them) –

I have just returned from a visit to my landlord – the solitary neighbour that I shall be troubled with.

Call me Ishmael.

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.

In a hole in the ground lived a hobbit.


Many books started with an idea or vision that haunted the author until he or she scribbled it down, looked at it, and proceeded to write out a story up until then not even conscious.

Spo-fans may recall I voiced a yearning to write a story, either a novel or a short story (I love short stories!)  A yellow gumdrop popped into my head and it sits there waiting for its outlet.  So, I am practicing writing out ‘first lines’.

 

Here’s a few for your amusement and feedback…….

 

The yellow gumdrop rolled out of the bag and onto the dark tablecloth, leaving a sprinkling of sugar in its bouncy trial. “Damn,” said Victor “I’ll never shower in a truck stop again.”

I don’t know what to do with ex-boyfriend’s boyfriend’s yellow gum drops. They won’t come out of the soap dish.

Gumdrops were the last thing Christopher imagined when he opened his lunch box. He hoped for something more substantial to eat but instead he looked down at a pile of sugar coated candy, filling the metal container and making the “GI Joe” motif look even more queer to his coworkers.

Somebody called for gumdrops. This woke Jessica from her nap. “Yellow!” was heard a few seconds later. This made her realize where she was. She bolted upright and take inventory where were her clothes.

The speaker stood up, cleared his throat and spoke: “The philosophy of our institution can be summarized in the axiom gumdrops taste all the same – except the yellow ones.” Max, expecting a lecture on The Civil War, began to become alarmed.

“Would you like a bite off my candy bar? No, wait, that wouldn’t be sanitary, would it? I know! You can have some of my gumdrops. I never eat the yellow ones as they upset my vibrations.”

