Today is the birthday of Charles Dickens. Spo-fans know I am quite fond of him. Even my pen name honors Mr Dickens. He wrote under the name of “Boz”; I write as “Spo”.

Next week in Key West I will start “The Pickwick Papers”. I’ve put it off for some time, for it is the only Dickens novel I have not read. Have you ever saved the last cookie knowing after its consumption there is nothing left?  “The Pickwick Papers” is such for me. After it, ‘there is no more”. However, it is not as bleak as all that. Great literature should be reread, preferably at different times of your life. Each time I reread Dickens I find twists; I have great expectations I will enjoy them even more.

I admit reading Dickens can be challenging. At times he can be quite wordy.  It is actually more pleasant to have Dickens read to me than read some myself. Happily, his books are readily available on CD.

In honor of the day, here are a few Dickens quotes.

“Family not only need to consist of merely those whom we share blood, but also for those whom we’d give blood.”

“There is nothing better than a friend, unless it is a friend with chocolate.”

“No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.”

“I hope that real love and truth are stronger in the end than any evil or misfortune in the world.”

“But you were always a good man of business, Jacob,’ faltered Scrooge, who now began to apply this to himself.  Business!’ cried the Ghost, wringing its hands again. “Mankind was my business; charity, mercy, forbearance, and benevolence, were, all, my business. The deals of my trade were but a drop of water in the comprehensive ocean of my business!”

“He was wise enough to know that nothing ever happened on this globe, for good, at which some people did not have their fill of laughter in the outset”

 

