I have a large black spot on my skin.

I discovered it almost by accident. I glanced while doing a doubletake as I turned away from a mirror. I can’t get a good direct look, for it is located in the center of my lower back. Someone took a photo of it. I am no dermatologist but my intuition and immediate impression is this looks like cancer. The black spot is large, with slightly irregular borders, and it is two coloured. These are all ‘bad signs” for either a basal cell carcinoma or melanoma, which is much worse.

I made an appointment to see my doctor as soon as possible, which is next week. I suspect he will refer to a dermatologist, rather than handle it himself. That sucks, for waiting to see a dermatologist in Phoenix can take months.

I need to get facts rather than go on impressions. I musn’t let my emotions get the best of me. It may just be a large dark mole – they run in my family.

The irony is if the nasty thing had been where I could see it, I would have spotted it earlier and get it before it got too bed.

Meanwhile, I have to live with not knowing whether I have nothing or something very bad.

I will keep you posted.

 

