In my mind I have a list of things I want to do “someday”. I don’t now have the time, so they remain dreams. On the positive, they give me something to look forward, something to dream about. Alas, I have the terrible intuition I won’t ever see them accomplished. Something will get in the way.

Life is like that – all day long I hear people tell me how their lives turned out not at all what they hoped. Life often is a catalog of dashed hopes and fateful losses.

Retirement

My father tells me he can’t believe how time flies in his retirement. I sense I would be the same way. I have so many hobbies and interests I know my retirement would be jam-packed and fun-filled.

Spoilers – with Someone not working I don’t ever see me retiring. We can’t put aside enough money. Even if we could, I sense there will be a National economic collapse depriving me of my savings.  Sometimes I wonder why I even bother, when I sense it will all be lost.

Recipes

I have a pantry full of collected cookbooks and a folder full of clippings torn out of years of Gourmet Magazines. I have a dream of someday retiring and cooking each and every one of them. No day will have a repeating recipe.

Spoilers – on the slim chance I will ever retire, my health will probably not allow such cooking.

Paris

Which includes Ireland, Scandinavia, Australia, and some other places I would like to see.

Spoilers – Economics. Taking time off from work means I don’t get paid. And getting someone to cover for me for more than a week is near impossible.

Cocktails

This is along the same line as Recipes. I’ve collected a long list of drinks I would like to imbibe, just for the fun of it. And don’t get me started on all the wines there are to try!

Spoilers – Economics, present diet, and the future probability I shouldn’t drink anyway.

Growing Old

Spoilers – the genetics are stacked against me: high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and a family history for heart attacks.  Then there are the threats of nuclear disaster and the other pending horrors of the 21st century.

Gardening

I miss growing vegetables. I haven’t had any success here in the Southwest, so I’ve given up trying to grow things.  If wait to ‘move back home” to the Midwest or even back to Canada

Spoilers – all the matters mentioned.

Ah well.

 

