Now that the heat is here in Phoenix, my mind turns to the summertime past time of barbeque sauce.

Spo-fans know I enjoy making BBQ sauce. I scour cookbooks (old and new) and magazines looking for recipes that sound new and adventuresome. By now I have a half a dozen favorites, but I am always interested in discovering new ones.

This season I am pursuing BBQ sauce NOT ketchup based. Most sauces are. I’ve become more suspicious of nasty high fructose corn syrup, and ketchup (or catsup if you live in the Midwest) is full of it.  So far I have a few based on fresh tomatoes, tomato sauce, and mustard.   I’ve made one based on tomato soup or all things; I did not like it for it was too salty (go figure). I liked the following one, enough to pass on to Spo-fans:

Magic Mustard South Carolina Barbecue Sauce

1 cup of yellow mustard

1 cup cider vinegar

1/2 cup white sugar

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1 t. black pepper

1 T. chili powder

1/2 t. cayenne pepper

1/2 t. salt

1 T. butter

Mix all ingredients but the butter in a saucepan.  Bring to a low simmer, and stir in the butter. Let simmer x 20 minutes. Let cool to room temperature.

Someone judges this one ‘a keeper’ so that’s that; enough said.

The irony! I went shopping for ingredients only to discover my ketchup of choice now has a ‘corn syrup free’ version. I don’t know how it tastes, but I am keen to try it in the next round of culinary contestants.

I will keep you posted.

