Growing up I attended my mother’s church, which was a direct descendent of the Puritan church of New England (for we are of that stock). The pastor was Dr. Hutcheon, who holds the prize as the most elegant speaker I have ever heard.  He certainly surpassed my present priests and their ho-hum homilies.
I thought I would share one of his sermon topics I heard one Easter morning. It is from the Gospel of Mark. The women are going to the tomb to anoint Jesus’ corpse, but they have a problem: the tomb is blocked by a large stone. They aren’t capable of moving it. Yet, off they go, clueless as to what to do and probably fretting all the way.

“And very early in the morning the first day of the week, they came unto the sepulchre at the rising of the sun. And they said among themselves, who shall roll us away the stone from the door of the sepulchre? And when they looked, they saw that the stone was rolled away: for it was very great.”


I like the point of this part of the Resurrection. So much of our lives is wasted worrying how are we going to move away the stone in our path.  Yet, somehow the stone is overturned – usually in ways were didn’t imagine. Often we get something better than what we hoped.

If we would not be afraid.

If we could trust.

If we were open to what Life gives us rather than what we want Life to be.

So on this day some of us celebrate the transformation of death and despair into Life, I wish you all the best in your Journeys.

And don’t worry about the stones.

