I love books. I usually read 2-3 at a time. A pleasant past time is surfing the internet for lists of what books are in the ‘Top 100” . Sometimes the list is the creation of a committee; sometimes it is the composition of some bigwig writer.  Either way, they are interesting  – not only to learn what others consider ‘great literature’ but to see how many have I read.

Apparently I have a long ways to go. I continually run into titles I haven’t read. Worse on my pride: some I don’t recognize.

Here is my list of Great Literature Not Yet Licked –

Jane Austen’s novels repeatedly show up on ‘Top 100’ lists. I don’t recall ever reading any of her works. Last summer I bought a one dollar used paperback copy of “Pride and Prejudice”; I want to see what all the fuss is about.

Henry James is another author frequently mentioned ‘must read’ on these lists, mostly his “The Ambassadors”.  His long sentences intimidate me and make my eye cross. This one may be a ‘audio-book’ read.

“War and Peace” is often tooted. It sounds daunting and a bit dull. But hey, if I can read Les Miserables and James Joyce’s Ulysses  (twice) I can get through War and Peace, right?.  This also holds for “The Brothers Karamazov” and for Proust. I confess: I want to read them mostly to be able to say I have done so.

Here are a few others:

Vanity Fair

Uncle Tom’s Cabin

The Three Musketeers

The Last of the Mohicans

A Farewell to Arms

The Sound and the Fury

If you would like to play “Stump Spo” ,  list some of your “top 100s” and I will tell you if I have read them or not !   I win either way – either I will boast “I’ve read that!” or I will hear of new books – perhaps some “Thumpimg Good Reads” !!!!

