You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 21, 2011.

I like breakfast. After years of hearing how breakfast is the most important meal of the day, I am having some on a regular basis. Eating a decent breakfast symbolizes a resistance to the morning rush to get up and out ASAP. Breakfast isn’t just a meal; it is taking time to take care of one’s self.

My usual breakfast consists of eggs and oatmeal, a diet I got from The Personal Trainer. Happily I like both so it doesn’t get tiresome. Some mornings Someone makes me scrambled eggs from egg whites with one yolk. On other mornings he prepares three hard boiled eggs for consumption at work. Either way I eat oatmeal, “the breakfast of nincompoops”.  Or course there is always tea, hot or cold. If you are tired of tea than you are tired of Life.

A full sit down brekkie implies it is the morning of something exceptional like I am on holiday viz. I don’t have to rush anywhere. Breakfast or brunch goes from being a meal to an event. On these occasions I like a “traditional breakfast” of eggs, toast, juice and fresh fruit in season (no rubbish). As a treat I may eat some nasty but oh so tasty sausage – or better yet – bacon. The gods may drink ambrosia, but they eat bacon for breakfast.

Someone doesn’t care for eggs and he’d rather eat rats in Tewkesbury than oatmeal. What he likes are pancakes. If he is makes breakfast, we have pancakes. He likes syrup on his cakes; I like jam.

Hashed browns are always welcome, especially with hot sauce.

On weekends we like to go to Sweet Tomatoes for breakfast, which allows us to read while we eat. Someone reads his “Vanity Fair” and I read medical journals.
Next month for my birthday I will make some breakfast coffee cake. I have a recipe I learned in junior high school when I took ‘Home economics for bachelor living” :

One egg

3/4 cup sugar

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

 1 T. melted butter

some  sugar/cinnamon mixture.

Beat the egg and the sugar together. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Alternatively mix them together with the milk. Pour into a greased 9 inch cake pan. Sprinkle on the sugar/ cinnamon; dribble onto the top the melted butter. Bake at 15 to 20 min. at 375°

Blog Stats

  • 2,266,607 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

June 2011
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018