Every 3 months or so I see The Good Doctor for a routine checkup. He continually monitors my cholesterol, blood pressure, weight, and resting glucose. for I have issues with all of them. Careful scrutiny keeps them on the edge of being a problem.

The Good Doctor (TGD) and his partner sometimes send me patients for head shrinking. This is a compliment. Apparently they are pleased with my work. I explain to our mutual patients  I too see The Good Doctor, to avoid surprises in the waiting room.

Knowing what it is like to have ‘bad patients’, I keep conscious of what makes a doctor pleased to see me:

I arrive on time

I use good manners and I am particularly polite to the receptionist staff.

In disagreements or deemed billing errors, I do not  become immediately defensive and argue, or raise my voice, but process things calmly. If I am wrong, I don’t grumble.

I write out questions ahead of time

If I need Rx, I tell them right away, not when we are finishing.

I thank him for seeing me (Note: few people actually say thank you to their physician. Try it!  It could make his or her day!)

and

I pay my co-pays!

It is somewhat amusing to call The Good Doctor’s office for they don’t know which hat I am wearing until I clarify. Sometimes I am Spo-patient; sometimes I am Dr. Urspo.  Once in a while if I want to talk to The Good Doctor ASAP I will ‘flex my medical muscles’ a bit and announce this is Dr. Urspo and I want to talk to the doctor, now. Rest assured, I have only pulled this trick twice in 6 years.

The Good Doctor informed me it is time I have another colonoscopy, as it has been 10 years since my last one.  An uncle was recently diagnosed with prostate cancer; my father had prostate cancer, so I ‘graduated’ to high risk monitoring.

Between colon and prostate concerns I can look forward to a few things up my arse this autumn.  Best just to close my eyes and think of England.

