Today we travel to Niagara on the Lake, which is located across lake Ontario from Toronto. NOTL is a tourist site; I often see a lot of Japanese folks here. We are here for The Shaw Festival, which is celebrating its 50th year. We’ll see two shows: Candida and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof.  I am curious about the latter. I’ve seen ‘Cat” a few times in Canada, and they often don’t get the accents right, or discard them altogether. I am confident the Shaw Festival can pull off the accents. “Cat” is one of Someone’s favorites. I may have to poke him in the ribs as he follows along, moving his lips like a priest does when he reads the prayer Secreto.

 

NOTL is also known for wine for it is in the heart of Ontario wine country. Ontario is proud of its wine. It seems every year there are more and more wineries. Nowhere else can I get Baco Noir, which is becoming one of my favorites. It is a red wine, dark and earthy.  I call it “Earthblood”. Someone, who doesn’t care much for red wine, thinks it tastes like mud.  I purposely packed light, with room in the suitcase, so I can bring home a few bottles.  It goes well with hearty beef dishes and stews and spicy things (the wine, not Someone).

 

NOTL has an Irish tea house, where I get Barry’s Tea.  It is the tea equivalent to ‘baco noir’.  Dark, tannic, strong; it is the only tea I drink that I add milk or cream.  It is a good morning pick me up tea; quaranteaed to open your eyes.  I get a box of the stuff every year.

So that is today’s theme – I like them dark, strong, invigorating, and delicious.

Like my men.

 

