I woke up this morning with a cold.  I have the usual cold symptoms: stuffy nose, sniffles, body aches, sneezing, and personal guilt. The weekend looks to be a loss.

I probably got it at work from The Other Doctor (TOD). He was looking bad on Tuesday. He didn’t come in on Wednesday or Thursday. Out of guilt, he came in on Friday, but soon went home. He was there just long for me to catch his bug and to volunteer to ‘cover’. So I have a trunk load of charts which now includes his. Oh well. I am not going anywhere today.

When one gets sick one hears several types of cures, all guaranteed to help. I heard the staff tell TOD to take zinc, chicken soup, Airborne, Vitamin C, and echinacea. Even I gave him some thing- some rooibos tea, on the practical grounds it could do little harm. I am not a fan of ‘cold remedies’.  They work via the placebo effect; the sufferer believes it will work, and they takes comfort thereof. This often helps, so I shan’t knock it.  Alas, I don’t believe any of these things help, so they would not work for me. The only thing I can do is a combination of rest, fluids, complaining, and perhaps some aspirin for the aches. The rest is waiting.

I like to think colds are Nature’s way of telling us we are running around too much and not taking care of ourselves. She knocks us down with a virus to get us to finally sit still and get some rest.  Sitting still is not one of my fortes, but I will do my best.

When sick, most men want someone to cosher them and attend their needs.  All I want is to be left alone. Someone politely asks if he can do anything for me, I say no, and he goes back to watching TV.

I will have time to read blogs.  It is an ill wind that blows nobody good.

