I recently finished a history course on the life of Martin Luther. I am not a Lutheran, but I am fascinated by him. I have a great respect and admiration for people who defy custom and convention.  They are the “Warriors” of history; they stand up to authority and thumb their noses at the powers-that-be. Their courage is awesome, for they are usually trounced for their actions. Warriors may be as simple as persons in a bad relationship or religion who say ‘no more’ and walk out. They may be of great historical consequence, such as Luther, Gandhi, or MLK. I enjoy watching the tyrannical Tribes howl with outrage as their powers are questioned. I continually look for Warriors in literature, movies, and in life. They comfort me; they stiffen my spine.

I suppose I admire these types so much for I do not have much Warrior of my own. My Jungian psychoanalyst once commented I badly needed to develop my Warrior. Truth is, when I have encountered times for Warrior energy, I tend to cave in and wuss out. This is shameful to admit of course. But facing a deficit is the first step towards remedying the problem.

So I ‘work out’ in concrete and symbolic ways. I go to the gym to build up bulk – using the ‘big boy machines’ and say I have a right to be there. In conflict with others, I try not to immediately apologize or take responsibility in order to calm the waters. I try to allow people and patients to be angry with me. I try to express anger, rather than repress it.  I worry less about being a ‘good boy’. Most important, I stand up for injustice.  And when I need archetypal guidance, I think of  Warriors and derive courage from their bravery.

