It was a full weekend between social activities and getting caught up at the office. Whenever either happens, my time for writing and reading blogs dries up quicker than rain in the desert.  My mind feels dried up as well; the Muses left early for their winter holiday with the Fates.   This leaves me with the Norns for inspiration and consultation.  Of course, they want me to write about the winter solstice.

As I drove to work this morning in the predawn, I remembered this week is the ‘darkest week of the year’.  I rather like the winter solstice. I suppose my Northern latitude genetics makes it so.  I try to make it a quiet peaceful time, with plenty of candles to welcome the returning sun.

Unfortunately this year’s Winter Solstice tranquility is being marred by all the Mayan nonsense.  I would readily dodge it all by turning off the media, but patients keep bringing it in as a source of angst de jour.

 

th

 

Someone (not my Someone) recently pointed out the similarity between f the Mesoamerican calendar and the Oreo cookie.  Rather than prescribing tranquilizers, I am going to tell the new-age anxious to make Oreo truffles:

|

36   OREO Cookies, finely crushed, divided

1  pkg. (8 oz.) Cream Cheese, softened

16oz. Semi-Sweet Chocolate, melted

RESERVE 1/4 cup cookie crumbs. Mix cream cheese and remaining cookie crumbs until blended.

SHAPE into 48 (1-inch) balls. Dip in melted chocolate; place on waxed paper-covered baking sheet. Sprinkle with reserved cookie crumbs.

REFRIGERATE 1 hour or until firm.

I plan to ‘celebrate’ this week with as much peace and quiet as possible. Someone (my Someone) is always concerned my mania for lighting candles will burn the house down. This would be a fine ‘end of the world’ indeed – our own little personal Gotterdamurung. Thanks Norns.

So that’s all the Spo-thoughts on his bright but brief winter morning. I will try to keep you abreast of the news if I happen to see any Mayans or Oreo cookie sightings.

