It’s been another bitch-week of work; I haven’t (again) been to Blog-land. Daemonic forces are doing their damnedest keeping me away, nose to the grindstone, and out of touch with writing (and/or reality).

I’ve just returned from the 645PM showing of “Elysium”. I found the movie boring. Within 15 minutes I caught on who will do what and what the story will do. The screenwriters or director violated a simple rule of tale-telling: if you are going to follow a standard story, the delight is in how well it is told. “Elysium” was a disappointment on many levels. However, it made me think about science fiction in general.

People who don’t like science-fiction usually have a difficult time putting into words exactly why they don’t care for the genera, but upon being pressed they often conclude ‘it’s so depressing”.  Most of the latest sci-fi movies and books support this viz. they all seem to have post-apocalyptic settings in which totalitarian governments combine with technology to make a dystopia, usually (over)populated with rather dirty people. However, science-fiction isn’t so much predictive but descriptive. It tells us something about the present not about the future. For example: “The Time Machine” isn’t so much saying we are going to evolve into Morlocks and Eloi – or that we should – but when we look at ourselves humans often are separated into ‘haves’ and ‘have nots’ with one group exploiting another.

44

My favorite type of science-fiction explores our possible evolution into something better than we are. We grow in  consciousness or experience an apotheosis.

I prefer “Childhood’s End” to “”The Road”.

tumblr_mjk8r1WWeB1qzfue8o1_400

I am not much of a film critic but if you want good thoughtful sci-fi about a paradise world nestled in a spinning ring, I suggest you read “Ring-world” by Larry Niven rather than shell out 15 dollars for Elysium.

Ringworld(1stEd)

