Spo-fans interested in zthe AIDS Walk should visit Someone’s blog.  He does a splendid job (although I will take credit for most of the photographs!).

IMG_1686

Studies show one of the most helpful things you can do for longevity and good mental/physical health is a daily half-hour long walk with another person. I thought of this panacea as I walked with chums among hundreds of strangers. I was struck by the metaphor of the Walk. People were on a journey, going at different paces towards the same end. Some were in groups; some went by themselves. They were young, old, gay, and straight. Some were in a festive mood; others in solemnity, holding photographs of the deceased. The common bond was doing something for a cause, for the benefit of others.

As I walked, I talked with my two friends, a male couple of nearly forty years. We discussed a mutual couple-friend, who recently announced they will marry in California next month. I got some updates on their lives and I learned a few things of their pasts I hadn’t known. We four are no spring chickens and our talks contained aging matters.

Time was the leitmotif.  Throughout the hour I thought of the dead, the many living (with and with HIV), and what may be ahead, when we reach the end of the walk, 5 kilometers hence.

At the literal end, Harper had won a prize for the monies pledged to her. The four (five) of us went to brunch and we  ate, drank, and stayed in The Present – which is best.  It is the duty of the living to make meaningful the sacrifices of the dead, and to remember those gone. Sometimes we do this best by merely living as well as possible, doing good work, and being grateful in all we have and do.

Keep walking. With each other. Discuss your day and talk about your loved ones, past and present. It will do your Walk well.

IMG_1690

