Viking Horns 2

A FB friend and fellow blogger sent me a link informing me 15 February is  Ragnarok, or the end of the world, in Viking lore and legend.  This is coming not a moment too soon; I’ve been waiting with horns a-ready for some time.  The word “Ragnarok” has been a favorite of mine when I use it to describe a personal disaster.  But this time we are promised the real McCoy, a proper Gotterdamurng without the need to buy expensive opera tickets to the Ring Cycle.

On this blessed day, the nine worlds of the cosmos will be destroyed in a cataclysmic event. It begins when the wolf, Fenrir, son of Loki, breaks out of his prison. A chain reaction will then take place, with the Midgard snake Jormungand rising from the sea and Fenrir devouring the sun. These events will accumulate in a battle in which the Gods, mankind, and all races from the nine worlds will fight. These events were prophesied by Odin, who had hung himself from Yggdrasill, the world tree, for nine days so he could die and be re-born with wisdom and foresight.

I am not making this up you know; do not dare to question this.

Normally, the Viking festival of Jolablot takes place  on 22 February to mark winter’s end. However, this year it coincides with Ragnarok and they have ordered extra food and mead.

I suspect we may be in for another disappointment like when that preacher fellow kept changing the date on The Rapture, then he canceled it. Then he died.

I notice Ragnarok happens during my PV holiday. This could be a prophecy or a warning I shouldn’t get too toasted on tequila lest some local Fenrir bites me in the butt.

I shall keep you posted, unless of coarse we are all carried away to Vahalla by Siegfried’s boisterous aunts.

IMG_0809

