Whenever I return from a week long holiday I face two or three days of ‘catch-up’ with numerous phone calls, notes, papers etc. I am quite used this pattern; it is the price I pay for going away. But I no longer feel overwhelmed by the post-vacation pile up.  I eventually get it all accomplished.

I am feeling overwhelmed these days, not at work, but at home. If I were to compose a list of what I wish to do at home the list would readily fill a legal pad.  There are books to read and blogs to follow.  I have a closet shelf full of sewing projects.  Then there are the ‘should’ statements of daily stretches, flossing meditation/yoga. I wouldn’t mind doing some crossword or sudoku puzzles on a daily basis too. The accordion file bulges with ‘try me’ recipes.  And don’t get me started on all the repairs around the house which want attention. My ‘watch later’ list of educational Youtube videos grows and grows.

Alas there simply isn’t enough time in the day to do all I want to do. Like many, I have to first do what needs to be done, which is mostly work. In the precious remaining few hours of the day I have to choose one or two items among a myriad of options; I can’t do them all. This makes me sad to think on it.

It bewilders me when I ask those retired or unemployed ‘what do you do with yourself all day?” and they can’t think of anything to do, or anything they want to do. They watch TV.
One of the reasons I don’t watch TV is it means to me I can’t think of anything else to do. As this never happens, there is no TV watching.  Things wouldn’t be so bad if I didn’t have so many interests, but it’s too late to ‘dumb down’.

I envy Someone, who doesn’t work and has all day to do things.  I envy too those who ‘live a life of leisure’.

Sometimes I toy with the idea of forgoing hobbies especially the ones which consume the most time. Dammit, I don’t want to give anything up.  So I try to do as much whenever I can.

It is 930PM. Ironically I am about to go to sleep, for I am very tired after working all day. Even my body works against me doing things. I’m falling asleep as I type.  I need to stop and get some sleep.  See you when I can.

