In light of the recent state-by-state news about same-sex couples, I am intrigued to find out more about the National Organization for Marriage. Whenever a state ban is deemed invalid and unconstitutional, the NOM can be counted on to be there to loudly remonstrate and vociferously condemn the outcome. With each advancement the NOM seems less powerful and more pathetic. I decided to go over to their website and have a look-see.

My first impression upon arriving is they are greedy and/or desperate for money. ‘DONATE NOW” is in your face; I could not avoid the requests for funds as I try to read the articles. NOM is a one trick pony show, but that is not surprising. After all, their goal is defining marriage as “one man and one woman” (one at a time; they don’t seem to say anything about having a series of marriages). Still, the mantra comes across as dull rather than horrific. Like plainsong, la la la forever on one note it isn’t very interesting.

Their articles are up to date; there is a rebuttal and outrage for Idaho, Utah, and Pennsylvania. They vow to press on with more legal appeals. There have petitions to impeach the dastardly judges who overturned the laws made by the majority of voters. ** I was not aware NOM had so much antipathy towards Starbucks. It seems a good enough reason to take up coffee.

th

Mr. Brown runs the show. He reminds me of the Black Knight in “Monty Python and the Holy Grail” who feels he is invincible despite losing all his limbs. First he was menacing; now he sounds impotent. Like King Arthur I want to shout out “Look you stupid bastard, you’ve got no arms left!”.

I know there are a lot of folks gloating and/or snickering at Mr. Brown’s ongoing attempts to stop what seems inevitable. But I don’t feel that way. I want to more like Belize in “Angels of America” who says at Roy C’s death:

“He was a terrible person and he died a terrible death. But a queen can forgive her vanquished foe”.

I hope I can show the losers “it ain’t so bad”. We will all marry whom we want and the world will keep spinning; you are no worse for it other than your paradigm.

The NOM marches on Washington DC next month. I won’t be angry or disgusted; I won’t return hate, cheek by jowl. I will be watching though, keeping an eye out, while drinking a Starbucks and holding Someone’s hand.

** I recently took a history course on the Supreme Court. The same outrcry and explanations the NOM is howling about overturning majority voted laws repeats itself; this happened for desegregation and inter-racial marriage. You would think the NOM would use a different approach, but I suspect they are counting on nobody knowing their American history. In this matter they are for once correct.

