I have a dear chum who sees me as much younger than he although we are not that apart in age. He recently called me a ‘Twink’. This made me pause. I’ve been called a lot of things in my life but “Twink” was a new one. He meant it as a compliment of course, another reference to my alleged youth. I was quick to deny it. I looked at my brindled hirsute 52yo body (which is still overweight). I quickly denied it; I ain’t no Twink. The emotion evoked made me pause to think. I stepped back to analyze why was I having this emotional response. It made it think – what exactly is a ‘Twink”? Do I qualify as such? It is a role I covet?
I consulted a dictionary:
“Twink is a gay slang term describing a young or young-looking man with a slender, ectomorph build, little or no body hair, and no facial hair. In some societies, “chicken” is preferred. The related term implies a man is effeminate; it tends to be used in a derogatory manner. The terms can be complimentary or pejorative.”

 

 

Capital_Gay_Pride_parade_in_Albany_New_York_2009

 

 

I had to admit to myself “Twink” at an emotional level is a negative term. I was defining Twinks as glabrous youngsters with little maturity. Yet if you ask me, I would say Twinks are not ‘bad’ but merely young men, full of energy and hope. They have no body fat and their sex drive is ferocious – enviable traits indeed!

It makes me think. Do “Twink” and “Bear” merely mean young and old gay guys? Does each envy or dislike the other? Are we allies or opponents? Are Twinks merely Bears-in-waiting?
The acid test for my lack of membership to Twink-land is when I am around lads of this sort, I am not considered ‘one of the boys’. I am seen as ‘Daddy” (on a good day) or ‘old fart’ (most days).

As to my chum I say “Well, darling, go on thinking that if it comforts you!” I am no Twink no more no way. But I receive it as a compliment he thinks of me as such. It’s rather sweet. It’s like being carded at the bar: it’s absurd someone thinks I’m that young but the mention is appreciated.

 

iBH1vF5

