I associate June with strawberries and 5AM sunrises. The month’s official soundtrack is Mendelssohn’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”. I am very fond of the music; I never tire of the play. Happily I get another serving this summer when we go to Stratford, Ontario.

I love going into the forest of Athens and be part of the comic mismatch. I have to be careful when I see MND, for I know the play by heart; I tend to move my lips like a priest as he says his prayers.  Like the rude mechanicals I want a part. But being ‘slow of study’ I prefer the lion’s part.  If I could I would be Oberon if only for the poetry. *

I never tire of it. It’s an old favorite yet it is being forever done in a different manner.  I enjoy seeing the different interpretations and settings.**  I wonder what Stratford will do this summer.  I wouldn’t mind a traditional setting complete with gossamer and fairy-wings.

I have a recording of MND I made from LPs from a college dorm library. It emphasizes the somnolence; the fairies are quiet and soothing, talking almost in whispers.  It is puts me asleep no matter what.

 

You spotted snakes with double tongue,

Thorny hedgehogs, be not seen;

Newts and blind-worms, do no wrong,

Come not near our fairy queen.

Philomel, with melody

Sing in our sweet lullaby;

Lulla, lulla, lullaby, lulla, lulla, lullaby:

Never harm,

Nor spell nor charm,

Come our lovely lady nigh;

So, good night, with lullaby.

Weaving spiders, come not here;

Hence, you long-legg’d spinners, hence!

Beetles black, approach not near;

Worm nor snail, do no offence.

Philomel, with melody

Sing in our sweet lullaby;

Lulla, lulla, lullaby, lulla, lulla, lullaby:

Never harm,

Nor spell nor charm,

Come our lovely lady nigh;

So, good night, with lullaby.

 

Good night from Spo-land  !

158552_1

 

  • Some say I am more like Titania: a fairy queen in pursuit of a Bottom.

** Only once has a production fallen flat. Some know-it-all at the University of Chicago decided to cut out Act I to start with Act II with Oberon and Puck in a homosexual relationship.

