The wrapping of Christmas prizes* is a serious matter. They are not wrapped in haste or without careful thought.  Some people like to use one type of wrapping paper to denominate one recipient viz. ‘all the ones wrapped in red are Someone’s’. Having a panache for colour, I try to use as many different colours of gift wrap as possible. I like holly; I dislike kiddie-cartoons. The exception is the Grinch. I’ve learned to use 1-2 ‘gift bags’ for those large and awkward items.

Ribbons go on the bigger packages; bows on all but the little ones. Once upon a time I knew how to tie several types of bows. Now I only remember one. So I use pre-made bows, which are nice for reusing year after year.

I am not one to save paper. Wrapping is meant to be torn away.**

Small gifts are sometimes put on the tree, but there is the risk of forgetting about them, only to discover them as we disassemble Christmas.

Most years when I have the time and energy I make a series of wrapped boxes like a Russian doll.  It usually gets down to a watch or other small precious item.  Large packages helps fill up the base of the tree as it were.

Truth be told Someone does a better job at wrapping prizes than I. His cuts and folds are more precise and his parcels more ‘sharp’.  He is a big fan of ‘gift bags’ as well: festive shopping bags usually with a bow on one side, tied up in gay strings and tissue paper.

 

*Newer Spo-fans need edification: “Prizes” is a Spo-sobriquet for presents. When growing up, Grandmother called presents of any sort ‘prizes’. Mother didn’t like it as it implied we had had to earn it so how. The term endures to this day.

** I once received a gift from my (Lutheran) godfather that had a blank card attached to it. He explained he left it blank so I could reuse the box and card. I thought this very thoughtful and quite Lutheran indeed.

