You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 26, 2015.

Before I begin my silly scribbling, I pause on this day of thanksgiving to acknowledge my gratitude for Spo-fans, far and wide. Thank you.

frustrated-chefThis morning I cooked bacon and sausage. The former is for a bean recipe for today’s dinner next door with The Lovely Neighbor; the latter is a traditional breakfast treat I allow myself on major holidays. Neither came out well. The patties were burned on the outside and raw inside. I fear I have no knack for cooking.  I hope this is merely from lack of practice. Someone has literally or figuratively cooked for me all my life, so I don’t have much experience. This is a pity for I like the notion of cooking. I’ve often said my retirement plan is to cook something new and different everyday.  I suppose if I am going to realize this goal, I better start practicing – now and often.  Someone is an intrepid cook who makes the same things over and over; I like new and adventuresome dishes. Another incentive to learn how to properly chop onions and sauté vegetables etc. is to better guarantee I get what I want.

I made a run at the rolls last weekend and while they were okay in taste they were heavy has hockey pucks and got no better with time. System analysis reveals I did not like them ‘prove’ long enough, whatever the heck that means. I think the next batch will be better.  My other dinner task is to bring beans. I hope green beans aren’t too bungle-prone.  “The Joy of Cooking” suggests a simple boil in salt water with a peeled onion will produce a good-enough dish, hot, simple and tasty – like my men.

So wish me luck. I am off to the kitchen to check once again the recipes and keep calm and cook on.

Blog Stats

  • 2,265,400 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

November 2015
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018