DTR3

Yesterday I spent some time frantically looking for a Spo-shirt only to realize I had given it away. Oops. It is an ill wind that blows nobody good, for it prompted me to do an inventory of what’s been made and who has what. If I may be so bold as to compare my sewing to artistry, I know of artists who keep a careful catalog of what they make and where their work goes.  Others make’em and leave it to Fate.  I love a list, so I decided to make one. It was a bit of a treasure hunt and logic puzzle deducing such. In the end it wasn’t really hard to do. I have photos; I have blog and journal entries. Like jigsaw puzzle pieces they were put together into a pastiche.  Actually, it was jolly good fun.

On my bucket list is to make 100 shirts. It turns out I have made 90.  I have 44. The other 46 were given away as gifts. That’s ~ 50% kept and 50% given.  I now know the who has what Shirt. Alas there are five shirts ‘lost’ to me; they were made for friends who have disappeared. (1)

Most keepers of Spo-shirts have one shirt. However, ten have more than one. The ‘record’ is DougT who has six shirts.(2)

My shirt rack is sagging with foudroyant fabric of forty four shirts. In 2016 I plan to be picky as to what I make for myself. Future fabrics must be fabulous – no rubbish.

Perhaps I need to consider throwing old ones out. These oldsters are ‘retired’ as they are faded, dog-eared, and frankly not made well compared to later creations. They are at a proverbial ‘B” table, hanging in the guest room closet. I seldom wear them but neither I can’t get myself to throw them out.  I see them as old and faithful servants who have worked hard and deserve to rest.

I don’t quite recall when I made my first shirt (3) but as a hobby (or artistic expression) I have not lost the joy. Hobbies should be fun, and this one remains so. I hope if/when I grow bored with sewing I will feel guilt-less to put it down. But  hat doesn’t seem to be the case yet.  I have ten shirts to go to reach one hundred.  Maybe there were be one hundred more. Who can say.

3shirts

 

(1) I admit I am more sad about the loss of the contact with shirts than the loss of the friends. But that’s the risk of given things away.

(2) His are all butterflies and bugs. DougT attends an annual convention of bug-nuts. He has to have a new gown each year, lest there is talk.

(3) I recall I was living in Ann Arbor at the time, so the circa is 2000-2005.  I should pull out my journals as figure this out precisely.

Addendum: thank goodness for my journals!  I found this:

9 February 2002  “I started my shirt sewing project with the Key West blue trial pattern. The parts [paper pattern] are cut out; fabric is washed. Ready for pins and cutting. I need someone to show me how to use a sewing machine.”

6 April 2002  “I have finished the shirt – resewing the R sleeve, fixing the collar, sew [sic] on the pocket, cut button holes. It only needs the buttons. It has puckers and wrinkles and crooked seams, but I am so pleased with it. Next shirt will be so much easier and better. How nice to end on Easter. “

 

