1 – What is your favorite movie to see at Halloween?

“The Haunting”. It is a tribute to the truism less is better. Is the house haunted or is it all part of people’s paranoia? No monster; no blood. Just the uncanny fear something is in the hall……

2- What was your favorite Hallowe’en costume as a child?

I have always went with the scary “death” costumes like skeletons or specters, keeping in touch with the original notion this was a day for being in touch with the dead.

3- Given enough money what would be your fantasy Hallowe’en costume?

Pan, with the goat legs and horns and all. I would play the pan flutes and evoke erotic desire in all who hear me.

4 – What is your favorite Hallowe’en candy?

Out of nostalgia, I like Sweet Tarts. Nowadays I prefer gummi-bears. I do not like coconut. Toffee-flavored penny sweets are right out.

5 – What is your supernatural fear?    Possession by evil spirits.

6 – Your ‘creepy-crawlie’ fear?   Tarantulas!

7 – Your ‘that’s gross” fear?    Trypophobia.  It makes me cringe!

8 – Have you ever heard a ghost or heard something go bump in the night?

Once upon a time when I lived in Chicago I awoke at 2AM to a very loud explosion from downstairs. My first thought was someone had smashed a window or shot a gun in the house, it was that loud. I ran downstairs to investigate. Nothing was out of place or askew. Even the cats were asleep as if nothing had happened.

9 -Are you a traditionalist or a creative carver of you Jack-o-Lantern?

I carve several pumpkins each year. One must have a scary face to frighten away the bad spirits. The others are creative, and getting more and more artistic as the years progress. I’ve been pleased with my artwork. However, Arizona living may stop this. Pumpkins shrivel literally overnight and the details go quickly. I may have to stay with simple patterns now.

10 – Do you know have a favorite ghost story?      Yes, I do. The Upper Berth

11 – Do you know someone who is “Anti-Halloween”?

I used to work with a woman who would not decorate her area as the others, nor would she even touch the candy and treats brought into the office. Even the trail-mix with candy corn was off-limits. I give her credit. She did not explain or defend herself, nor did she execrate others. It was a mere ‘no thank you’ – good for her!  I guess her strict Protestant sect thought it all Satanic.

12- Do you decorate the house at Hallowe’en?

As a kid I used a lot of store bought plastic stuff. Now I channel Martha Stewart. The inside and out of the house is tasteful but lavish.  My favorite decoration is to open a pumpkin from the bottom, clean it out, and drill it all over with holes. Then insert a light bulb. The dotty glow is both spooky and whimsical.

13- What do you want on your Tombstone?       “Finally Stopped Worrying”

For fun here is one of my favorite Halloween tunes from my youth. I worry now if it  has racist overtones. But as a boy I thought it innocent and absolutely delightful.  

