This year I took all the Christmas music and combined them into one playlist, pressed the ‘Random select’ and there it is. Apart from a few horrid tunes*, I generally like Christmas carols. Over the years I’ve collected a lot holiday CDs ranging from the sublime to cheap Christmas trash.

It’s curious to have random generated Christmas music if only to hear what next arise. One moment there might be a tasteful Noel motet followed by Elvis having a blue Christmas. Loreena McKennitt’s soothing Wexford Carol exits and Pentatonix Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy enters (jolly good fun).

I suppose the sudden change in mood and genera is a bit jarring. It is sort of like going to a banquet where the first course is an exquisite delicacy only to have the second coarse be fries and catsup.

After the novelty wears off I will stick with albums, one at a time, as my moods wish. Albums tend to be more homogeneous in taste, volume, and style. Random tunes make for strange and uncomfortable bedfellows. Jessye Norman doesn’t go well with The Partridge Family. Eartha Kitt wanting Santa Baby to bring her goodies jars with the spirit of “In the Bleak Midwinter” (of which I have six versions).

I have approximately three weeks to get through all my CDs although I think I will skip the Beach Boys and the Lovely Lennon Sisters (gads but they sound white) and focus on more on soothing Narada-like verisons of hohoho.

In all my years of knowing Someone I don’t remember him once putting on a Christmas CD or any music for that matter.  He likes TV not music. I listen to Robert Shaw Chamber Singers; he watches Law&Order.

Neither one of us likes The Little Drummer Boy.

th

 

The following make me sick up, shoot reindeer, or release the Krampus:

 

Rocking around the Christmas tree.

Grandma got run over by a reindeer.

The Christmas Song (chestnuts roasting on an open fire)

The Sleigh Ride song (truly horrible).

It’s the most wonderful time of the year (Andy Williams version is the worst)

Have yourself a merry little Christmas (Judy Garland’s version drives one to drink).

 

 

