Now that I am the nabob of five hundred navvies I better ‘put out’ as it were with something worth reading. Alas, all I got today is “random thoughts”.

insanityIt’s the Phoenix ‘cold season’ which consists of clouds, rain, and lows dipping into the 30s. It feels like the Pacific Northwest. One is obliged to finally get out a jacket and turn on the heat. Inclement weather makes many of my fellow Phoenicians morose;  this is the sort of weather they wished to avoid when they moved away from the Northeast, the Northwest, the Midwest, the Canada, etc.  I like it rather; rainy cloudy days invariably cheer me up. It reinforces the belief once upon a time in a previous life I was a Tlingit.

People are waxing wroth last weekend over ‘alternative facts”, which seems to be just a quaint euphemism for lies and falsehoods. Science uses the less pejorative expression ‘cognitive bias’: we believe what we wish is true.  It is hoped we are open to objective collaboration and facts but this doesn’t seem to be in vogue at the moment.  My patients have all sorts of zany ideas about mental illness and treatment. One of my tasks is to provide accurate and evidence-based medicine to them, whether they like it or not. More and more patients take offense when I challenge their beliefs. I try to persuade them my medical degree and 25 years of experience beats their google-search.

According to my language app, I’ve done a daily lesson for two weeks in a row and to keep going. The fit-bit and the Runkeeper apps remind me to do a daily exercise, while my phone tells me it’s time to go to sleep. As I write this I realize I have the technological equivalent of a nagging spouse or parent.  On the other hand I can’t be trusted to remember these things on my own, so I shan’t complain.

Last night The Lovely Neighbor had me over for ‘southern food’ consisting of fried catfish, homemade slaw, potatoes, and black-eyed peas. We also had hushpuppies, which she lamented were not very good as she forgot baking soda or something. I had never had one before, so I had no reference. I gave one to Harper who did not eat it – perhaps as she was hushed already.

