You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 6, 2017.

office

This one was written in piecemeal as I sit through a weekend conference. It was mostly written during the talk on pediatric movement disorders.

I am glad to be in a medical specialty that is ever-learning and ever-changing. It is a bit humbling to learn much I believed tried and true is no longer so. It’s the Firesign Theatre slogan: “Everything You Know is Wrong”. It stings a bit, but it feels good to learn and grow, which is a sure sign of being alive.

I work in isolation so I don’t know any local colleagues. One of my goals of this conference was to meet and hob-nob with my fellow wizards. I’ve faced my social anxiety fears and attended the Friday night mixer, made. I purposely wore one my more loud and colorful Spo-shirts. This forbade me to stand in the corner unobserved. People approached me to ask about it. This gave me a sort-of springboard into dialogue. I met a handful of shrinks; I feel a sense of accomplishment. I emade a few business contacts. The President of the Arizona Psychiatric Association invited me to ‘get involved”.  Good for me!

Speaking of colleagues I am struck how diverse is my speciality. Surgery, for example, tends to be all white males (and pompous ones at that). Shrinks are male, female, old/young, and seem to come from all ethnic backgrounds. I like that.

Do I sound like a wicked old screw to write the psychiatric residents are beautiful? The young male doctors attending the lectures are all drop-dead gorgeous. Many of these lads have whiskers, all worthy of a Fearsome Beard post. I guess one of the admission criteria to residency nowadays is being woofy and handsome. I am grateful I was ‘grandfathered in” both literally and figuratively.

During the lecture breaks there is coffee and tea (albeit rubbish) and buns and things and pharmaceutical representatives. Many of them I recognize from Wednesday luncheons at work. As a group they change products and companies like participants in a fast-paced square-dance.

My liability insurance company also has a representative present. She is well over four feet. She told me she is pleased I am not afraid to call them with worries when my colleagues fear to do so lest they be labeled as a ‘problem doctor’. She gave me some notepads (the pharm reps no longer do so). On each sheet is a ‘tip’ how not to be sued. The top page suggests  I keep my prescription pad under lock and key so it isn’t pinched by the patients.  I will try to tell as many people as I can in town.

Blog Stats

  • 1,479,366 Visitors to Spo-land

Categories

May 2017
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2016