You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 12, 2017.

Office

Doing things you are fearful to do is sage advice. The dreadful action often isn’t as bad as you fear it will be and doing so gives one a sense of accomplishment. I’ve never gone on line to the ‘Rate your doctor’ sites to read what people have been writing about me – until last night.

Before I tell you the findings, let me reflect on these sites. If one is feeling OK about a service, restaurant etc. one generally doesn’t go on line to say so. In contrast, if one is mad, frustrated, or disappointed, one is more likely go write a negative review. This is done  to ventilate upset or elicit sympathy but sometimes it is done out of spite.  Responding to negative reviews on line is difficult as this blows confidentiality. A doctor can’t easily the patient who wrote ‘He didn’t listen or took care of my needs” was a crafty drug seeker whose request for Valium was declined on the sensible grounds the person was caught doctor shopping.

I suppose the authors hope their reviews will cause others to think twice about going to said physician resulting in the doctor losing business and feeling remorse.

I’ve never been worried about negative reviews on line. Patients wait months to see me; I do not lack for business.  I can’t please everybody. Always doing what the patient wants is bad medicine. Sometimes I have to tell them their ways/requests are not good. If they leave in a huff and write on line how bad I am so be it.  Conversely I never read on-line reviews about professionals knowing what is written is probably not reliable.

With that said I thought to go on line and have a look-see.

The majority of my reviews are good ones at ‘4-5 stars”. However there were a handful of ‘1s’ as well. There were little if any in-between reviews.  I am described as either brilliant or the worst doctor there ever was.

Like most people I zeroed in on the negatives. Most of them were tirades with little logic or point. Some of them were amusing in a way. Here is my favorite:

“Freakin (sic) bow-tie guy, dressed to the nines, very uppity butt crack kind a guy. Wants you to relate everything to him and he types it all down on his laptop and asks you personal information that isn’t any of his business.”

Fascinating! I don’t use a laptop at work, so that was an eye-raiser. On the other hand the writer isn’t wrong I do ask a lot of personal questions about the condition of their periods, bowel movements, sexual functioning, and troubles at home. It’s something I picked up in medical school, I suppose.

Rather than merely dismissing all negative reviews as rubbish, I am analyzing them for any tidbits that sound like genuine criticism upon which I can improve. Here are some possible valid lesson:

I need to keep vigilance to make adequate eye contact and not get lost on the computer screen.

Overall people see the bow-ties as distancing rather than making me seem dapper.

I think I will continue to ask nosey personal questions.

Someone described me as “pompous arrogant and godlike” . I will leave off the eye patch and keep the two ravens at home.

I am going to interpret the butt crack kind of guy comment as a callipygian; my work outs are paying off.

Blog Stats

  • 1,507,320 Visitors to Spo-land

Categories

October 2017
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2016