You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 17, 2023.

Urs Truly doesn’t have a drop of Irish blood in him, more’s the pity. I’ve long been attracted to the country, mostly for its stories and its music. I have a Bucket List item “See Ireland” which isn’t very specific. I suppose I want to see the hills were the likes of Yeats and Joyce hail from, the landscape that inspired such lovely tunes like Brian Boru’s march (one of my favorites). Later in life I realized Ireland made whisky and that’s good too.

I have on gold and green bowtie today for the day’s sake.

I remember as a medical student working with a resident from Dublin. She was puzzled – perhaps a little annoyed – at all the nonsense that passes off for St. Pat’s Day here in The States. She told me it being a saint’s day people went to mass and had a dinner of lamb and potatoes – no corned beef and cabbage rubbish. Bars were closed on the day – can you imagine? She added some of the natives now put on St. Patrick’s Day parades and such as the tourists expect it.* She wasn’t happy about it.

Perhaps my interest in Ireland isn’t so high and lofty (books and music) but by the red hair and sonorous tones of an Irish accent. I’ve never dated an Irishman (worse luck!), nor have I ever had a friend who was Irish. I swoon at the voices, which I now know varies depending on what part of Ireland one hails from. A fellow from Erin could read the instruction of an IKEA chair assembly and I would be in a frisson. There is a group on The Tube of Yous consisting of Irish men and women trying foods and drinks from around the world, and I tune in regularly just to hear their voices and jokes.

Ironically there will be no drinking today. After work Someone is ushering and I have tickets to hear “Pink Martini”, a group I am quite fond of. It’s a safe bet I will be asleep in a heartbeat, so I just may go home. On Sunday my brothers and I have our next zoom meeting whisky tasting which by chance is a whisky from Ireland. Let’s see if it is any good.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to thems who celebrate such.

Do you have any Irish in you?

Do you know of any red-headed fellows I may borrow for the evening for a glass of Bushmill?

*She liked to point out Leprechauns traditionally wore red and St. Patrick was associated with the color blue, but no one expects that any more.

Blog Stats

  • 2,266,602 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

March 2023
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018