You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 3, 2009.

back-pain0

On Sunday morning I went to sit down and the lower back went instantly into a stiffness I recognized as a muscle spasm. I get these maybe once a year: a rapid tightening of the lower back muscle(s) to the point of near incapacity. It could of have been worse; it was bilateral, not sharp or radiating; It is muscular, not neurological. 

 

Today I am walking around looking like Grouch Marx. I need to press down with both hands to get out of a chair. I feel hobbled.  

Groucho_Marx

 

I am the only person in my family without a slipped disc. I bargained with the Fates if I was careful, did my stretches and kept up my yoga I would not have one.  Lately, I’ve done none of this. I am aggravating it by 2-3 workouts / week. (I suspect my butch attempt to leg press twice my weight last Saturday caused all of this).  

So my muscles blew a fuse, telling me to ‘shape up’ before something worse occurs. 

 

Despite it being hot as hell, I am soaking in the hot tub, which has not been used since April). 

My friend Motrin is taking some of the edge off.  The rest is waiting and patience. 

 

When this passes I need to get back into stretching and yoga, which were displaced ironically with blogging. I may have to cut down on the later to address the former. 

 

 

Blog Stats

  • 2,274,066 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

August 2009
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018