urbex-photography-ghost

I love ghost stories. When I was in the boy scouts, stories around the campfire were not proper stories unless they had a ghost in them. Disappointed in the tales I heard, I took it upon myself to learn as many ghost stories and take over the job. Happily there was no dearth of ghost stories to explore; people have been telling ghost stories for thousands of years. Just about every famous author has written at least one. So I dug in to find the gems.

I was quickly amazed and disappointed to discover there were so many bad ones. Spo-fans know I frequently use the word ‘rubbish’ but this was particularly applicable to the majority of ghost stories I read. Curiously, some of the greatest writers wrote some of the worst ghost stories. There were silly or boring. Boring is the worst you can say about a ghost story.

What made them bad was their failure to scare.  A proper ghost story should give you the creeps. You should be disturbed. Over the decades of reading ghost stories I’ve discovered the best ghost stories often don’t have a ghost in them at all; you merely sense its presence or see the results of its actions. If there is a ghost it doesn’t seem ‘ghostly’ but as an ordinary person.

Another intriguing finding: nearly half of the best ghost stories were written by women. When it comes to ghost stories the female sex almost beats the men.  I still wonder why is this. Perhaps the ladies have more flair for the uncanny?

For those interested in a truly scary and creepy read, I recommend one of the following. They are guaranteed to give you the willies.

The Upper Berth – F. Marion Crawford

Afterward – Edith Wharton

Harry – Rosemary Timperley

In the tube – E.F. Benson

The Sweeper – A. M. Burrage

The Signalman – Charles Dickens

The Telephone – Mary Treadgold

A bonus: a perfect example of what a good ghost story should do, from one of best:  Shirley Jackson’s “The Haunting”