You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 22, 2024.

What’s top of my mind: A colonoscopy. Wednesday morning I am having a colonoscopy; probably while you are reading this. I think it is my fifth. I get one every three years given a history of polyps. By now they are routine and I don’t think much of them – other than some envy at the money racket this is. I should have gone into a specialty with a billable procedure.

Where I’ve been: The loo. Given the preparation pharmaceuticals for the ‘scope I am in there all Tuesday evening. I’ve called the toilet the loo since childhood when I learned this word on trips to Canada. ‘A trip to the loo’ became a family statement.

Where I’m going: Somewhere to eat. Having not eaten anything since Monday night (no food allowed on Tuesday) it’s time to eat anything at eye level. I won’t be picky. Hunger is the best cook.

What I’m watching: Videos on the new EHR (electronic health records). On Friday minions from The Overlords are coming to do some education on the new EHR. In preparation I’ve been watching online instructional videos. No matter how hard they try to make things easy the result is an emotional tidal wave of too much information that doesn’t stick. I know this will pass with time and familiarity. Meanwhile it is a mess.

What I’m reading: The JAMA update on prostate cancer. When the PSA was established this revealed a lot of low-grade cancers that normally wouldn’t have been found or mattered. What to do with a high PSA isn’t clear viz. when to watch vs. invasive procedures. I want to keep on the latest recommendations as I feel it’s a matter of time when my PSA goes up and I want to be well prepared what to do when it does.

What I’m listening to: Why economies rise and fail. I’ve studied many areas but no economy, worse luck. I want to know more about economy as from my uneducated view it looks like mumbo-jumbo. So far the lecturer is waxing philosophical and not much else and not especially interesting. I hope this improves.

What I’m eating: Modified meal kits. I didn’t keep up on what meal kits are coming and last week we received two not one kit and worse they consisted of meals they, not I, chose. Many come with the dreaded mayonnaise which is vorboten in our house. I’ve modified the recipes to be sans mayo (that means without) with fair success.

Who needs a good slap: Thems who don’t use apostrophes. There is a trend in business to drop the ‘s in signs and logos. This is spilling over into writing where it is difficult to distinguish a possessive from a plural (example: Michael’s vs. Michaels). I am usually not one for prescriptive grammar but I vote to keep the apostrophe in writing for clarity’s sake.

On my 1-5 scale, I give thems who don’t use the apostrophe one slap.

Who gets a fist-bump: Travel Penguin. Even though he is in France (or someplace like it) he responds to my good morning memes with a smile or a bit of a funny face.

What I’m planning: A quiet weekend with pasta. The last few weekends were busy what with medical conferences and theater. They were fine and fun but I was tired of busy weekends. This pending one I want to be a homebody and not go out. I also want to make a dish from the pasta cookbook I mentioned a while ago. I am presently reading it for which one to try.

What’s making me smile: Brother #4. He recently turned 50. How is this possible? My baby brother is fifty years old! All the brothers and cousins sent him salutations. Although he is the youngest in the group he is the only grandfather via his two stepchildren who have children of their own. It made me smile to think we all lived long enough to see this.

Here is photo to make you smile. It was probably taken in the mid-70s. The 50yo birthday boy is in the high chair.

Blog Stats

  • 2,288,111 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

May 2024
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018