I am going to Chicago, said in my best Bette Davis voice, to attend a medical conference. It is really an excuse to visit The Windy City. I lived there from 1989 to 2000. Some of my greatest memories both good and bad come from my Chicago days. 25 years later it seems unreal I had ever lived there – was it all a dream?

One of the problems of living in a city and moving away is when you revisit the place you want everything to be just as you left it. It makes you feel sad to see some of your favorite places are no longer there, but it also makes you happy to see some of them have survived – just like you.

The medical conference is on the magnificent mile, downtown, so I will be able to walk about and see the sights – not that I will have much time. Classes are Wednesday through Saturday 7AM to 5PM. I like to learn so I will be happy therein. But what will really be good is meeting friends after lecture for dinner, drinks, whatever. There are more friends than evening times.

Tuesday Someone drops me off at the airport; I fly Southwest to Midway. I am not looking forward to the plane trip. Flying is usually a hassle but SWA sounds like a cattle car. I plan on wearing a mask and plugging into my headphone and do not disturb. I will take the L downtown. I will enjoy that. When I lived there, the L took me everywhere; no car was needed. I am staying the first night with The Other Michael. We will go out to Cafe Babareeba! Patience above! It’s still open! I might get emotional. I can’t get too wild for Wednesday is a school day. I move into the Marriott as lectures begin at 7AM.

I am certain to write on this as nothing inspires writing as ‘going home’ and seeing old places and old friends – some I haven’t seen in 25 years.