You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 14, 2011.

I am trying to make some time to get in touch with some holiday cheer.  This is not easy, given the continual demands of work. There are not enough hours in the day for all I should and want to do.  This evening Someone and I trimmed the tree. Our ornaments range between those bought this year to ones I made in church school. We have a lot of Father Christmas figurines.  Out of whimsy, we have the four Teletubbies and all the characters from Rudolph.  You will be shocked to hear I have several aloha shirt ornaments.

At work I am participating my first “Secret Santa”.  I am making instant mixes of cocoa, chai, mocha coffee, and cappuchino.  I hope the recipient likes them.

Speaking of Secret Santa, my family each year pulls names; every year we all post Christmas lists.  I usually want imperial tid-bits like real smoked salmon (no rubbish) or cheese from Wisconsin. When in doubt, Zingerman’s is a shoe-in.  I fear I haven’t been at all good this year, so I may have to settle for a lump of coal.

Thank to Amazon.com my Christmas shopping is nearly finished. Nevertheless I have to venture out this weekend to purchase some items. This will be my first time in a shopping mall this season. I hope it is not too exhausting. I hope to get in and out as quickly as possible without any hand to hand combat.

Every year at Christmas I make a batch of BBQ peanuts. This year I found a real ‘proper’ hot sauce that burns the mouth like nobody’s business.

I’ve made a fresh batch of Urspo-coco.

I hope to make nanaimo bars, which I learned from JustaMike.   

Speaking of Canadian influences, my new favorite carol is “Huron Carol” thanks to Buddybear (the dear!).

Well, I really should get back to chores and preparing for the morrow.

I will write a proper post soon.

Blog Stats

  • 2,275,365 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

December 2011
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018