You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 7, 2012.

Recently I read few blogs that had the same story of “The Traveling Angels”. In this fable, two angels visit earth, where one angel questions the divine logic in the injustice he witnesses. A good man’s cow died. The senior angel explains how Heaven intervened the cow died in lieu of Death’s desire to take the man’s wife.  The moral of the tale: we don’t see or understand the cosmic reason of things; and this sometimes is seen as injustice or indifference.

 

It made me think of an “Angel’ story I once heard from one of my psychology teachers. I promised blogger buddy Victor I would share it.

 

My teacher explained in her youth she had been sickly. Multiple tests and consultations did nothing to diagnose or explain her fatigue. With each ‘negative’ test she became more frustrated and disenchanted with Western Medicine.  She also grew bitter against  the Karma, God, the gods, the Universe – whatever. She heard from a friend of a faith healer.  Her girlfriend had been to him. The friend raved about his empathy and healing powers. So my teacher set up an appointment with the man. She had to wait weeks. When she finally met the man, she started to blurt out her narrative but then cut it short.

“Just jump start me” she said. “I think I can do the rest if you can just get me going”.  The man paused and got up, opened the door, and matter of fact told her “I’m sorry. I can’t do anything for you”. My teacher was stunned. She didn’t know what to say. She went home. “I threw myself one of the biggest pity parties of all time”, she told us. She also prayed and demanded why she was the one who had to suffer. She was raised to think Heaven would always take care of her, and she felt deserted.

A week later her girlfriend asked her how the consultation went and wasn’t he the greatest?  My teacher described her encounter with him.  A few weeks later the friend told my teacher she had gone back to him for a follow up appointment. She asked the guru how come he wouldn’t help her friend:

 

“As I was listening to your friend talk (said the man to my teacher’s friend) behind her appeared of one of the sternest angry looking spirits I have ever seen. It was her angel. As she spoke the angel moved from behind her to in front of her, putting itself between her and I. The angel said I was not to lay a finger on her. So I asked her to leave.”

 

A week later my teacher learned this man had been arrested for sexually molesting several of his female clients while they were under hypnosis.

 

My teacher taught this story to illustrate the “logic” of The Divine: God, heaven or karma – call it what you will.

Guardian-Angel-(blue)

 

 

Blog Stats

  • 2,275,365 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

December 2012
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018