Last weekend I made macaroni and cheese from scratch; it ended badly. It was quite runny, more like pasta in cheese soup. Having never made M&C this way before there were many possible reasons why it fell flat. Friends and family on The Book of Faces were consulted and the general consensus was I used too much milk and worse it was skim not whole.* It’s worth repeating as most recipes don’t go well the first time one makes it (when I first make it). Someone was too polite to say it but I saw the bubble thought above his head saying for all my work he prefers the stuff out of the blue and orange box.

While we ate Thai cheese pasta soup we watched an episode of ‘Dr. Who’. I am slowly slogging my way through the series. Matt Smith is the current incarnation and he does a fine job other than when he’s excited he talks faster to the point I can’t follow what he is saying. There’s no harm really as the formula is the same: there’s a mystery to solve that usually has a monster to slay which always happens no matter what.

More financial woes! For sometime we’ve been delaying the inevitable need to replace the ancient AC and heating system. The AC repairman (or someone like him) came out Monday afternoon to tell us the day we knew would arrive it’s here and hold out his hand for our money. And this is just after we shelled out 14K for taxes! Oh that hurts. Clever and thoughtful Someone has been anticipating this, squirreling away money in CDs and such so we won’t have to dissolve mutual funds or sell plasma. “They say” the better efficiency of a new system will pay for itself in time. I wonder if I will live that long.

Hypnos god of sleep hasn’t been kind as of late. I am working on means to open my nose at night so I don’t become a mouth breather. In the dry air the open mouth soon dries and causes me to wakes, which makes me drink water which leads to its own sleeping interruption problem. At night Harper is having great shakes in her sleep. We can’t tell if she is having vivid dreams or seizures or is possessed by demonic forces. Her pseudo-seizures wake us and it is hard to wake her from them. When she does she doesn’t seem worse the wear but gives us a pained Jack Benny look ‘can’t you see i am trying to get some sleep?” I wish I could. I’m combining the factors of decongestants, antihistamines, nasal steroids, and a dehumidifer. Oh the pain.

There was a penny on the floor of the locker room at the gym the other day and I paused to stoop down to pick it up. What few there were to witness such a spectacle were probably puzzled why I would bother. Pennies aren’t good for anything but it is engrained in me to see a penny pick it up and all the day you have good luck. When I got home Someone announced the AC man said while the system is old it is functioning and didn’t need replacement until next year maybe. So there, you doubting Thomases.

*The sauce was tasty though; I added four ounces of Thai green curry which gave it a lovely kick.