You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 13, 2007.

Hohoho

Yesterday’s entry hit a nerve – I got more visits and comments than I have received in a long while. There is nothing like Christmas carols to bring out emotions (at least the bad ones).

To keep the Universe in balance, today is about ‘the good ones’

 My ‘favorite’ carols change over time. I used to be a big fan of Deck the Halls and Carol of the Bells. But that was last decade.  Here are my present favorites – 

“In the Bleak Midwinter’ – sung by Jessye Norman. The poetry is moving and tender. Its slow tempo and religious content will keep it out of the mainstream, which is another of its charms.  And I luv Jessye Norman ever since I heard her sing “The Four Last Songs” by Strauss.   

“The Wexford Carol” – by Loreena McKennitt, off her Christmas/Solstice album “To Drive the Cold Winter Away’. Her version beats all others.  

Snow” – another one by Ms. McKennitt from the same album. Not a carol, but a song about the winter time. It is so lovely. She is sooo talented!  

“White Christmas” – sung by Bing Crosby of course. When he starts to whistle I sigh like a little girl for the thrill of it.  

Still, Still, Still’ – arranged by Mannheim Steamroller. Their version of “Still x 3” is a slow choir rendition that captures the peace of the season. 

“Oh Tannenbaum” by the Vince Guardaldi Trio from ‘A Charlie Brown Christmas”This one is somewhat arbitrary; all the tunes from this CD are fantastic. 

 ‘Santa Bring my baby back to me’– Elvis Presley.   It makes me smile. 

And —

“Santa Baby” – The Divine Ms.Eartha Kitt. And it is going pretty strong right now in my head.  No amount of Haldol will stop it.

So Spo-Fans, do you have a favorite or two?

Blog Stats

  • 2,274,946 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

December 2007
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018