You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 27, 2007.

in 2007 I have been using WordPress.
Most of my blogging buddies use Blogger. It looks like Blogger has improved; I have not heard recent grips about it. So in 2/08 I am considering coming back to Blogger.
If anyone is reading this, could you leave a comment you came and visited
and
could you tell me if you are happy/dissatisfied with Blogger

Regards,
Urspo

Some days the desire to write is there without any item on which to write. The Muses took an extensive Christmas Holiday to visit the Graces, who always do up their place for the holidays. So I am on my own today. Speaking of being on one’s own, it seems blogging is quiet this week, what with people away and doing other things. There seems to be only a few people scribbling out posts.

This year we are actually going to do something on New Year’s Eve. A fellow we met on our November cruise invited us out for a dinner party. I am looking forward to this. Someone and I usually stay at home on New Year’s Eve. Worse, I am programmed to call it a night when I see the ball in Times Square drop down – which is 10PM local time.  

My parents have celebrated NYE with the same couples since I was a tot. The six of them go out for dinner, have an allegedly quiet moment at midnight, give each other a kiss, and go home. As children we dreamed up all sorts of morbid, awful fantasies about what our parents were ‘really doing’, but it turns out just wild imagination. In some ways it is a disappointment to realize my parents are as Midwest as I.  

On 12/31, I call my uncle and sister in law to wish them a Happy Birthday, for so it is for both of them. As my uncle slips into dementia, this call gets sadder to do. I doubt he will remember me or even know it is his birthday.  

On this day I reread “The Little Match Girl” by Hans C. Anderson. If you don’t know this story, give it a try – it is only 4 pages long and very tender.  

I play “The Perfect Year” from Sunset Boulevard. Sometimes I dance around a bit, having learned the tango once upon a time. This drives Someone bats. 

What are your tentative plans for New Years’ Eve?  

Blog Stats

  • 2,274,946 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

December 2007
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018